random image

Sheriff's Reserve

Department Sheriff
Sheriff's Reserve

The Reno County Sheriff’s Reserve is a volunteer organization whose members serve the public without monetary compensation or employment benefits. The law enforcement activities of the reserve are under the direction of the sheriff of Reno County.

Protecting Life & Property

The sheriff may call upon the reserve to perform its duties and activities at any time or under any conditions. As fully commissioned law enforcement officers, reserve deputies are sworn to protect the life and property of the citizens of Reno County.

Sheriff Vehicle sm

Reserve deputies complete class room training and a field training program to become a fully commissioned member, ready to undertake their duties. Continuous training is required and is provided though monthly meetings and assignment to special training opportunities.

Reserve Unit

Each individual accepted into the Reserve Unit, commissioned as a deputy sheriff of Reno County, Kansas will knowingly acknowledge his personal responsibility to the law, the public, the sheriff, and his legal representatives by diligently conducting his official obligations and activities and his private and business affairs with the highest degree of intelligence, honesty, and integrity.


The reserve provides and/or assists with a variety of law enforcement functions and duties including:

  • Road patrol
  • Detention
  • Warrants
  • Investigations
  • Special assignments such as:
    • Sporting events
    • Parades
    • Special events
    • Many others

The reserve is also called upon to assist during local emergencies and disasters such as tornadoes and floods.

Chain of Command

The reserve is under the direct supervision of a patrol sergeant who acts as a liaison between the reserve unit and the sheriff through the normal chain of command. Reserve deputies are fully commissioned deputy sheriff’s and are expected to serve with pride and integrity and are required to comply with the rules and regulations of the reserve and the sheriff's office.

Additional Information

Each reserve deputy is expected to work a minimum 40 hours per quarter of which 25% must be spent working in the jail. The Reserve Unit is extremely proud of its service to the citizens of Reno County. The Reserve Unit is funded primarily by donations made to the Reno County Sheriff’s Reserve Association.

Joining Opportunities

The Reno County Sheriff's Reserve is looking for men and women of good moral character to serve as reserve deputies for Reno County. Interested individuals should complete an application online. Each applicant must successfully complete a written examination, oral interview, background check, psychological review, and drug screen and be free of any felony or domestic abuse convictions.

If you have questions you may email Captain Darrian Campbell at 620-694-2735, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Authorized Department Administrator , Information Technology , Sheriff

Contact Us


Sheriff Office


206 W 1st Avenue Hutchinson, KS 67501



Emergency Phone: 911


Sheriff's Office page

Staff Directory


Monday - Friday

8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Apply for Available Jobs

Questions About Case Status

Sheriffs Office Star

2020- Darrian Campbell
2002-19  Randy Henderson
1993-02  Larry Leslie
1973-92  James H. Fountain
1963-72  Charles Heidebrecht
1959-62  Calvin Shepard
1956-58  Roy Sheppar      
1955-56  All Severson       
1951-54  Victor H. Frazey   
1947-50  Walter L. Dixon     
1943-46  O W "Steve" Stapleton    
1939-42  Guy L. Angerholz    
1935-38  George T. Allison   
1931-34  Edward R. Cunningham
1927-30  Fay F. Brown        
1923-26  Jesse Langford    
1921-22  W.T. Clark     
1917-20  W. Scott Sprout        
1915-16  Tom Jennings      
1911-14  Konrad C. Beck
1907-10  George M. Duckworth
1903-06  John W. Harper        
1898-02  William E. Long        
1894-97  John Q. Patten        
1890-93  John W. Jones        
1888-89  Dan Miller        
1884-87  J.L. "Fay" Smith        
1882-83  John M. Hedrick        
1880-81  A.P. Jordan        
1876-79  John M. Hedrick        
1874-75  Henry Hartford       
1872-73  Charles Collins